Latest National Guidance on COVID 19 - click here

The Book of Common Prayer

The Walesby Group has a long and continuing tradition of worship, using the liturgies and language contained in the 1662 Book of Common Prayer (BCP).

The Book of Common Prayer (also known as the Prayer Book) is the traditional service book of the Church of England, and is central to its faith. Compiled in the sixteenth century by Thomas Cranmer, and modified in 1662, the Prayer Book remains at the heart of our worship, and is the official doctrinal standard of the Church of England, as well as of most other Churches in the worldwide Anglican Communion.

All of our regular Evening Services use the liturgy and Language of the 1662 Prayer Book. However our traditional language 9am Services are in accordance with Common Worship Order 2. Those with some historical knowledge of Church Liturgies will know this is very similar to the Proposed Prayer Book of 1928, which never received parliamentary approval.

The Following Churches in the Walesby Group use traditional language liturgies:

All Saints, Croxby
St Andrew’s, Stainton le Vale
St Martin’s, Kirmond le Mire
St Marys, Claxby
St Peter’s, Normanby le Wold
St Thomas the Apostle, North Willingham

If you want to know more about the ‘Prayer Book’ please click the logo below: